oh my gosh, I'm so excited!

31

Posted on: April 8, 2011

Happy BirthdayFor some reason, 31 is stressing me out.  Last year, I embraced 30 with gusto, had a blowout pink birthday party with a sleepover and all.  I ran straight towards the edge and jumped with arms wide open.  It’s been a busy year, lots of work and travel, 7 weddings, and I hope a bit of personal growth.  I said to my husband the other day that I felt like I just haven’t accomplished enough yet to be 31.  I can’t put my finger quite on what it is exactly.
I’ve always struggled with math. (this has a point and I’ll get to it shortly)  It’s never been my strong suit and I vividly remember crying my way through Algebra ¾.  Over the years, this led to a belief that I’d never have a strong grasp of anything to do with finances, analytical information, or business.  I knew this irrational fear of numbers had to end, so a few years ago I forced myself to start play sudoko.  I’m good at visual puzzles and I like grid paper, so I decided that if I could genuinely have fun playing sudoko, a game with numbers at the heart of it, that I could get over this silly apprehension.   It worked, and as I became better at the game, I became more confident in tackling projects at work and at home that I normally would have shied away from.

So, to turn my irrational fear on its head, I’ve compiled a list of things regarding the number 31 to inspire my recreational activities for the year.

  • Starbucks TrentaEnjoy a Starbucks Trenta sized drink, which is 31oz of coffee goodness.   The Huffington Post declares that it is bigger than your stomach, but I say just stick close to a restroom.
  • Jimmy Choo 31I could definitely rock a pair of these Jimmy Choo heels style #31.  Live by the phrase “Change your shoes, change your life!”

I could have dinner at Table 31 in Philadelphia, or Bistro 31 in Los Angeles.  Now if gas was just 31¢ a gallon, I’d be on my way.

  • Chanel PerfumeMaybe CHANEL 31 Rue Cambon Perfume is my signature scent for the year? It’s one of six fragrances in Chanel’s “Les Exclusifs” line created by master perfumer 258.  It’s a chypre fragrance named after the address of Chanel’s Parisian couture workshop.
  • Embrace the London Telegraph report that women are at their most beautiful at 31.
  • jamoca 31 below icecreamEat Ice Cream!  Baskin Robbins 31° Below™ desert creation is described as a smooth and creamy Vanilla Soft Serve blended with my choice of favorite candies.  I’m going with the Jamoca OREO but Mint Chocolate or something with raspberries might do as well!  Too bad I couldn’t find any treats that are 31  calories.  (But everything is fat-free on your birthday, right?
  • 8 of SpadesGet competitive at a game of 31, a card game also known as Scat, Ride the Bus, or Blitz. This is a simple draw and discard game, suitable for players of all ages. Players have a three card hand and the aim is to collect cards in a single suit worth 31 points or as near as possible to that total.

Lip Gloss of the Year: NYX 31: Red Tint.  Not too sticky and not too trampy!

  • Elle WoodsChanel my inner Elle Woods by studying US Code 31: Money and Finance: The United States Code is the result of an effort to make finding relevant and effective statutes simpler by reorganizing them by subject matter, and eliminating expired and amended sections. For example, a bill providing relief for family farms might affect items in Title 7 (Agriculture), Title 26 (Tax), and Title 43 (Public Lands). When the bill is codified, its various provisions might well be placed in different parts of those various Titles. Traces of this process are generally found in the Notes accompanying the “lead section” associated with the popular name, and in cross-reference tables that identify Code sections corresponding to particular Acts of Congress.  If you got to the end of this paragraph, you should feel smarter than you did 10 seconds ago!
  • gold starHere’s a nice list of famous accomplishments at age 31 that will surely inspire me to get cracking this year:
    • French Egyptologist Jean Francois Champollion deciphered the Rosetta stone.
    • British physician Thomas Wedgwood produced the first photograph.
    • Gregory Pincus achieved in-vitro fertilization of rabbits. Later he invented the birth control pill.
    • Charles Dickens wrote A Christmas Carol
    • Mozart composed Don Giovanni
    • Stravinsky premièred the Rite of Spring
  • Hotel del CoronadoVisit our 31st state, California.  No convincing needed here.  Coronado Island: I’m on my way!  It’s like Pleasantville with a beach and a crime rate of 0!

Bottoms up.  Here’s to a year of accomplishments!

3 Responses to "31"

I loved 32 more than 31…but I too ran at thirty and was disappointed by 31…But, 33 has been sucky so I am hoping 34, starting this August is way better. 😛

You’re so clever! 31 is pretty nifty! More experience, wisdom, and cleverness to tout!
XO Mom

Love these ideas! I just turned 30 so I’m going to make my own list for 31. Heck, maybe I’ll do it for every year!

Leave a Reply

oh my gosh I'm so excited!

Click to follow this awesome blog to receive notifications of new posts via email. Plus, Alicia will consider to you to be in her super secret inner circle.

Alicia Thompson Logo

Instacuteness

Photoshoot day at work with @teama2e and I got to play with @pantone decks! #succulents #twinklelights #social #happyplace Drizzle time. This may or may not have turned out as a murdery birthday cake 🤦‍♀️ #connorturns5 #bowlingcake Baking for my little man #connorturns5 #bowlingcake #4yearsold #goingon5 #littleman

Twitteriffic

Influenster Blogger

YUM! My del.icio.us bookmarks:

Bloggers Do It Better!

Bloggers Do It Better

Like this blog? Give me a shout out!

My Zimbio

Photo Blog: Instagram

Photo Blog: Instagram

Bookshelf

my read shelf:
Alicia's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)
